My dear students, I am happy to welcome you to the Faculty of Life Sciences. The Faculty you have just enrolled into is an old as well as a new Faculty. An old Faculty because it was an integral part of the former Faculty of Science, which was the first Faculty in the University of Benin having started with the University in 1970.
It is new in the sense that it is one of the two Faculties created out of the Faculty of Science in 2005. The Faculty of Life Sciences as presently constituted is made up of Seven NUC accredited Departments of Animal and Environmental Biology, Biochemistry, Microbiology, Optometry and Plant Biology and Biotechnology, Environmental Management and Toxicology Science Laboratory Technology.
The Faculty also runs part-time degree courses in Environmental Science, and Science Laboratory Technology as well as Diploma courses in Food and Brewing Science, Science Laboratory Technology and Applied Microbiology. Details of these courses are contained in this brochure. You are advised to make use of the brochure as often as possible to help you to be acquainted with the rules guiding the award of the degrees and diploma. There is no doubt that you will come across some initial problems. You are advised to see your Course-Advisers and your Heads of Departments or even the Dean, who are always ready to help you with your problem(s)..